TAP IN #2 – {A}CCOUNTABILITY

image
When I was little there were times my parents would send me to bed , and I snuggled down into my fluffy covers…my eyes would POP open at the sound of them up laughing or watching television.

Sometimes the following morning, I’d see empty Pepsi cans lined up on the kitchen counter for recycling & snack chip bags in the trash. It would be obvious they’d had a good time without me.

I’d think to myself, “When I’m a grown up I’m going to do WHATEVER I want to.”

Isn’t that how it goes? We spend a lot of time as children & teens wishing we were adults or at least “out of our parents house”, so we can do what we want.

Interestingly enough, I’ve found that while I’m an adult & can do “what I want”, when it comes to my pursuit of Christ, I thrive much more when I’m connected to others in fellowship and (A)CCOUNTABILITY.

I know it’s the “Christian girl” stigma to post pictures of an open bible & coffee cup on social media. To some it seems contrived and monotonous. For me , it’s a way to be (A)ccountable.

If I claim to be a believer & Christ follower , my pictures and posts should at some point testify of that. If I look over my posts and there’s been no mention of Jesus, devotions, the Word, or some other attribute birthed from a relationship with Christ; it’s a wake up call to get back to what matters.

The danger of posting on social media is doing so with the wrong motive….the intention to “look” spiritual or as a result of comparing yourself to someone else. If this is an area in which you struggle, find someone in real life to whom you can be (A)ccountable. Someone who considers SEEKING God {not just knowing ABOUT God} just as important as you do. Share your desire to be intentional about studying the Word of God & check in with them weekly to share your progress or something you learned while searching the scriptures.

Hebrews 10:24 even admonishes us to “stimulate” or activate one another to do good deeds. You’ll notice the more you’re in fellowship with God through His Word & community with like minded people, your behavior will be more Christlike. The things that concern God will begin to concern you. You’ll give more, you’ll share more, you’ll be more effective, because you’re in continual communion with God.

Start today.

Find someone online or in real life that compels you towards (A)ccountability. This may prove to be a task harder than expected. It is our natural sin nature to be self-sufficient & absorbed. Interestingly enough, (A)ccountability will build community, and as a kingdom and body of believers, that in and of itself pleases God.

Leave a Reply

