Practical Tips for the Bad Day Blues

 

I’m having a bad day.

There….I said it. 

Nowadays it’s like saying you have the plague or interpreted as “I’m on the verge of a breakdown” if you admit you have a bad day. As a believer, I have come to understand that God is the God of all of me, and all of my life. He does not shy away from when I’m in a bad mood or overwhelmed. In fact, he left a promise for days like this….”Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28 NIV)

Today is one of those days where everything seems to be waiting for me to wave my magic mommy wand and get ‘er done. Except, I”m fighting the flu, preparing for a play I’m in, getting my kiddos ready for their school Christmas program tonight, and trying to keep the house functioning (laundry, dishes, dinner, homework, discipline, mom I need boots, mom I need lunch money, mom can Brooke come over, mom can Eli come over) without my husband’s help since he’s working extra this week. 

Instead of pretending we don’t have bad days… I thought I’d share some of the ways I contend with one to make it the best it can be.

 

1. TELL SOMEONE

I find that if I’m honest enough to tell someone that I’m struggling to find the beauty in my day, they’re in turn willing to offer a listening ear, comic relief, or a word of prayer (all of which are helpful). If I just need to be distracted, I know who to call. If I need someone to stand in intercession for me and beseech the Lord on my behalf, I know who to call. If I need someone to just listen and offer sound advice, I know who to call. Surround yourself with individuals who are strong enough to allow you to be yourself without coddling you. 

 

2. MAKE A LIST

Whether it’s a list of things to do according to priority or a list of reasons to be grateful, I find that writing a list helps me to regain focus. Sometimes stepping back from whatever situation has overwhelmed you gives you just the right perspective to keep moving forward. When I list the things that need to be done according to priority, I find that some things can actually wait and some of the burden I’m carrying is lifted. 

 

3. FIND A FAVORITE SPOT 

This is my favorite spot in the fall & spring. 

Image

 

It’s special to me. We used to live in a condo right up the street from this park. When I was 12 weeks pregnant with our second child, I miscarried at home. For about 2 weeks I stayed holed up in our condo sleeping, reading books and trying to get over the grief. The first time I got up the strength and courage to come out of the house, I came to this park. I cried. I prayed. I lauded. And I let go. 

Image

 

In the winter it’s one of the saddest, most melancholy little parks. It’s tucked away in a village neighborhood and doesn’t see much traffic. But in the spring, it comes to life. The ducks swim, the trees bud & the trails are once again safe for walking. 

This is my spot. It always reminds me that no matter how long the winter is…spring is coming. There’s always a reason to hope. 

 

4. PRAY 

This really should be at the top of the list. If you’re like me you find yourself talking to God at various points throughout the day. But do yourself a favor…..stop talking….and pray. Pray God’s word. Remind yourself that HE IS A PRESENT HELP IN THE TIME OF TROUBLE. (Psalm 46:1) Be honest with Him. HIS YOKE IS EASY AND HIS BURDEN IS LIGHT. (Matthew 11:30) . You have access to God! COME BOLDLY BEFORE THE THRONE OF GRACE THAT YOU MAY OBTAIN MERCY IN YOUR TIME OF NEED (Hebrews 4:16)  You can go to Him knowing that He cares about you and everything that pertains to you. CAST ALL YOUR ANXIETY ON HIM BECAUSE HE CARES FOR YOU (1 Peter 5:7)  Whew!!! I feel better myself!! His word is alive!! God IS HIS word!!!

 

5. TAKE A BREAK

Lastly, give yourself 20 minutes to do nothing. Leave the dishes in the sink. Let the piles of laundry sit on the couch unfolded. Put the children in their room with some books or toys. Find a quiet spot. Grab some tea or coffee. Now….SIT. Take a break. Everything can wait. The most important thing right now is that you RESET. 

 

These are just a few of the things that work for me on a bad day. Feel free to share some of your tips. 

Now excuse me while I go save the world. My 20 minutes are up! 🙂 

Leave a Reply

