Off.

I was shaking uncontrollably by the time we landed.
My hands were cold & sweaty.
My heart raced & my head spun.
After a whirlwind trip to Atlanta {which included 4 delays, 1 cancelled flight, multiple gate changes, savory Chicken & Waffles , a vocal blend out of this world & the opportunity to once again sing behind a gospel legend}
I was done.

I had smiled, laughed, cried & talked myself into exhaustion.

Once home I made a cup of coffee & plopped {literally} down on the couch.
And then I built up enough courage to take a deep breath and turn OFF my phone.

Yes….OFF.

For 1 hour this afternoon I turned my phone OFF and gave my mind & body a chance to be still.

I read a magazine about fine cuisine & trips to far off places with both historical architecture, romantic restaurants & scenery that causes one to believe in God again.

I listened closely to the sound of the dishwasher.
I watched the leaves fall from the dying oak in our front yard.
And although far past nap time & too close to bed time….I drifted in & out of sleep.

For 1 hour I turned the
Music
Worries
Responsibilities
Ideas
TV
Phone
OFF.

It was hard to be still.
It was hard to be selfishly focused on my need to rest and nothing else.
It was hard & I can’t wait to do it again.

2 thoughts on “Off.

Leave a Reply

