Words of Affirmation

I consider myself to be a fairly confident person.
That confidence came after years of low self-esteem, people pleasing & broken relationships.
I was forced into the process of becoming whole when I truly grasped the fact that God wanted to use me to minister to others.
Sure…God uses broken vessels who are willing to admit that their strengths are only strong through Christ. But just like any teacher, He also desires us to mature into well rounded people grounded in the truth of our identity through Him and not defined by the weakest parts of ourselves.

I have accepted that I’m quirky.
I’d rather be in a room full of books than a room full of people.
Although I like make up, handbags & designer clothes, I feel much more comfortable in a pair of jeans, a comfy cardigan & ballet flats.
I love church. I do. But my greatest dream is to teach small bible studies in a coffee shop, at a university or in a field filled with underprivileged families who just want hope & truth to cling to.
I like 80’s rock & CCM worship.
I don’t always have the time or money to keep my eyebrows, toes & hands manicured to a t.
I’m not hoarder messy, but I’m not a neat freak.
I’m “ok” and I’m ok with that.

I was having a pretty normal morning {except for the fact that I woke up with an overwhelming sense of exhaustion… mental & physical}.
I’d already called off work & decided today was going to be rough.
I posted a picture on Instagram of my egg white omelette, raspberry yogurt, almonds & coffee…because …well because I’m quirky. A friend wrote …

“You’re perfect.”

I gasped.
Out loud.
Me? Perfect?
I’d been called many things before.
Talented, sweet, cute.
But perfect?
My imperfect self couldn’t take it & quickly stumbled to find a rebuttal.

In that moment His Love washed over me.
“You ARE perfect,” He whispered.
His words resounded in my heart…
You are fearfully and wonderfully made.<

I am my Father's and He is all.

I wept.

To some, words are empty.
Words are intentions without action filled with flattery & motives.
To me, Words are truth.
I can hear a person's truth when they speak.

And I heard this voice…the voice behind the voice that told me today…

"You are perfect."

With flaws and all I whisper…

"I am perfect. ”

20130926-101548.jpg

One thought on “Words of Affirmation

Leave a Reply

